Cowgirls Earn Number Two Seed in the MWC Tournament

March 3, 2007


2007 Women's Championship Bracket in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

BYU (21-8, 12-4) enters the Mountain West Conference Women's Basketball Championship as the No. 1 seed for the second consecutive year. The MWC Championship will be held at Las Vegas' Thomas & Mack Center, March 6-10.

Wyoming (20-8, 11-5), New Mexico (21-8, 11-5) and TCU (21-9, 11-5) all tied for second place in the regular-season standings. According to the tiebreaking procedures, the Cowgirls earn the No. 2 seed, the Lobos take the third spot, while TCU will play as the No. 4 seed. Wyoming earns the second seed because of its 3-1 combined record vs. New Mexico and TCU, while the Lobos were 2-2 and the Horned Frogs were 1-3. New Mexico and TCU split the regular-season series and recorded 1-1 records vs. BYU, but the Lobos earn the third seed because of their 1-1 record vs. Wyoming, compared to the Horned Frogs' 0-2 tally vs. the Cowgirls.

With the loss to Wyoming, Utah (17-12, 10-6) takes the fifth seed with its 10-6 conference record, while UNLV (14-14, 8-8) will play at the No. 6 position. San Diego State (12-15, 5-11) will play as the No. 7 seed, while Colorado State (8-20, 3-13) and Air Force (5-22, 1-15) will battle as the No. 8 and No. 9 seeds, respectively.

The opening-round game featuring the No. 8 Rams and No. 9 Falcons will take place on Tuesday, March 6 at 5 p.m. PT. The meeting will mark the second contest between the two schools in the MWC Tournament, with the last game resulting in a 79-68 Colorado State win on March 6, 2002. Colorado State leads the all-time series, 29-7, including a sweep of this year's regular-season series. Colorado State is 7-6 in the MWC Championship, while the Falcons are looking for their first-ever win.

No. 1 seed BYU will face the winner of the No. 8/No. 9 opening-round game. The Cougars are 3-1 in the MWC Tournament against the Rams and have never faced the Falcons. BYU leads the all-time series vs. the Rams (45-22) and the Falcons (18-0), including a sweep of both season series this year. The Cougars are 12-6 all-time in the MWC Championship, with five title-game appearances and one championship (2002).

Wyoming is the No. 2 seed, its highest seed in MWC Tournament history (No. 4 in 2005). The Cowgirls have never met No. 7 San Diego State in the MWC Championship. Wyoming has only won one quarterfinal game, while the Aztecs are looking for their first tournament win. The Cowgirls hold a 16-13 advantage in the all-time series.

New Mexico is the No. 3 seed for the second consecutive year. The Lobos meet No. 6 seed UNLV in the quarterfinals for the second consecutive year and third time in MWC Championship history. Last year, UNLV upset 21st-ranked New Mexico, 57-45, to advance to the semifinals. UNLV leads the championship series, 2-1, and holds the overall series, 21-12. The two teams also split the season series this year. The Lobos are 11-4 all-time in the tournament, while UNLV is 6-7.

TCU will play as the No. 4 seed for the second consecutive year. The Horned Frogs will take on defending champion and No. 5 Utah for the first time in tournament history. The teams split the regular-season series and are 3-3 all-time. TCU holds a 1-1 tournament record, while Utah boasts the best record in the league at 12-5. The Utes are also riding a three-game win streak in the conference tournament, dating back to last year.

MWC Championship Notes
- The MWC Championship has produced four different champions in its seven-year history. New Mexico is the only school to win three consecutive championships (2003-2005), while Utah owns two titles (2000, 2006). Colorado State (2001) and BYU (2002) each have one title apiece.
- The No. 1 seed has won the tournament three of the last seven years. New Mexico won the title as the No. 1 seed in 2004 and 2005, while Utah won the championship in 2000 as the top seed. Colorado State (2001), New Mexico (2003) and Utah (2006) won as No. 2 seeds. New Mexico is a perfect 3-0 when reaching the title game, while Utah is 2-3, winning in 2006 after falling to the Lobos in 2004 and 2005.
- In TCU's first appearance in the MWC Tournament, the Horned Frogs advanced to the semifinals. TCU has advanced to the semifinals of its conference tournament for six consecutive years (2001 WAC; 2002-05 C-USA; 2006 MWC).
- UNLV has advanced to the semifinals five of the last eight years, and made a championship appearance in 2002.
- Air Force and San Diego State are each looking for their first MWC Championship victory.

Tuesday, March 6
5 p.m. Opening-round Game No. 8 Colorado State vs. No. 9 Air Force The Mtn.
Wednesday, March 7
Session 1
Noon Quarterfinal Game #1 No. 2 Wyoming vs. No. 7 San Diego State The Mtn.
2:30 p.m. Quarterfinal Game #2 No. 3 New Mexico vs. No. 6 UNLV The Mtn.
Session 2
6 p.m. Quarterfinal Game #3 No. 1 BYU vs. No. 8/No. 9 Winner The Mtn.
8:30 p.m. Quarterfinal Game #4 No. 4 TCU vs. No. 5 Utah The Mtn.
Friday, March 9
Session 3
Noon Semifinal Game #1 Session 1 Winners The Mtn./CSTV*
2:30 p.m. Semifinal Game #2 Session 2 Winners The Mtn./CSTV#
Saturday, March 10
1 p.m. Championship Game VERSUS
All games are Pacific Standard Time
* Game will be shown live on The Mtn. and via tape delay on CSTV at 10:30 p.m. PT
# Game will be shown live on The Mtn. and via tape delay on CSTV at 12:30 a.m. PT

All session and single session tickets for the Mountain West Conference Women's Basketball Championship are now on sale at the Thomas & Mack Center box office, online at or by calling 1-866-388-3267. The Thomas & Mack Center box office will be open Monday, March 5 at 10 a.m.

All eight games of the Mountain West Conference Women's Basketball Championship will be televised. The first-round game, quarterfinals and semifinals will be televised live on The Mtn. The two semifinals will also be broadcast on CSTV via tape delay. The championship game will be aired live on VERSUS, beginning at 1 p.m. PT.