Wyoming Versus UNLV In Women's First Round MWC Tournament Action

March 5, 2005


Complete Women's Bracket in PDF Format

New Mexico is the No. 1 seed in the Mountain West Conference Women's Basketball Championship, to be held at Denver's Pepsi Center, March 9-12. It is the Lobos' (23-4, 12-2) second straight No. 1 seed as they won the tournament title last season as the top team. Utah (23-6, 12-2) is the No. 2 seed as the Utes and New Mexico tied for the regular season title. However, the Lobos swept Utah in the season series to earn the top seed. It is the second straight season the two teams have tied for the conference championship.

BYU (18-9, 9-5) earned the No. 3 seed, its highest seed since 2002, while Wyoming (16-11, 7-7) is the No. 4 seed. It is the highest seed in tournament history for the Cowgirls, as they bettered last year's fifth seed. UNLV (15-13, 6-8) and Colorado State (15-12, 6-8) tied for fifth place in the conference, but the Lady Rebels earned the No. 5 seed as they defeated New Mexico in conference play, while the Rams are at No. 6. Air Force (7-20, 2-12) earns its first ever No. 7 seed after winning the tiebreaker over San Diego State. The Falcons defeated No. 4 Wyoming, which gave them the tiebreaker over the Aztecs. San Diego State (8-19, 2-12) is the No. 8 seed.

No. 4 seed Wyoming, which is 1-4 in quarterfinal contests, meets No. 5 seed UNLV for the first time in the MWC Championship. UNLV leads the overall series with Wyoming, 14-6, but the two teams split the season series this year. UNLV has won six of the past seven meetings. UNLV is 4-5 all-time in the tournament, while Wyoming is 1-5.

No. 1 seed New Mexico is 3-0 vs. No. 8 seed San Diego State in the MWC Championship and 4-1 in quarterfinal games all-time. The Lobos lead the overall series with the Aztecs, 17-13, and have won the past 11 meetings, including a sweep of the season series this year. New Mexico is 8-3 in the MWC Championship, while San Diego State is looking for its first postseason win since joining the MWC.

No. 2 seed Utah is 3-0 vs. No. 7 Air Force in the MWC Championship and 4-1 in quarterfinal games all-time. Utah has never lost to Air Force in 17 meetings, including a sweep of the season series this year. Utah is 7-4 all-time in the MWC Championship, while Air Force is looking for its first win.

No. 3 BYU meets No. 6 Colorado State for the third time in the MWC tournament, with the series tied 1-1. The two teams have not played in the Championship since the 2001 title game, which Colorado State won, 59-56. Both teams are 4-1 all-time in quarterfinal games. Colorado State leads the overall series with the Cougars, 37-24, but BYU won both meetings this season. CSU is 6-4 all-time in the MWC Championship, while BYU is 9-4.

MWC Championship Notes

  • The MWC Championship has produced four different champions in its five-year history. New Mexico has won it twice (2003 and 2004), while Utah, Colorado State and BYU has each won the title once.

  • The No. 1 and No. 2 seeds have each won the tournament twice. New Mexico won the title as the No. 1 seed last year, while Utah won the championship in 2000 as the top seed. Colorado State (2001) and New Mexico (2003) won as No. 2 seeds. New Mexico is a perfect 2-0 when reaching the title game, while Utah is 1-1, winning in 2000 and falling to the Lobos last year.

  • BYU lost in the first round last year after advancing to the MWC Championship game the first four years of the conference.

  • Air Force and San Diego State are each looking for their first MWC Championship victory. Wyoming earned its first tournament win last season as it defeated Colorado State before losing to New Mexico in the semifinals.


    Wednesday, March 10 (all times MT)
    Session 1
    Noon Quarterfinal Game #1 No. 1 New Mexico vs. No. 8 San Diego State CSTV
    2:30 p.m. Quarterfinal Game #2 No. 4 Wyoming vs. No. 5 UNLV CSTV

    Session 2
    6 p.m. Quarterfinal Game #2 No. 2 Utah vs. No. 7 Air Force CSTV
    8:30 p.m. Quarterfinal Game #4 No. 3 BYU vs. No. 6 Colorado State CSTV

    Friday, March 12
    Session 3
    Noon Semfinal Game #1 Session 1 Winners CSTV
    2:30 p.m. Semfinal Game #2 Session 2 Winners CSTV

    Saturday, March 13
    4 p.m. Championship Game Semifinal Winners ESPN2 (tape delayed at 10:30 p.m.)

    Single session tickets for the Mountain West Conference Women's Basketball Championship are now on sale at the Pepsi Center box office and Ticketmaster locations. The Pepsi Center box office will be open Sunday, March 6 from 10 a.m.-4 p.m. Tickets are also available by calling 303-830-TIXS or by going to www.ticketmaster.com. Parking is free at the Pepsi Center for the entire tournament.

    All seven games of the Mountain West Conference Women's Basketball Championship will be televised. The four quarterfinals and two semifinals will be broadcast on CSTV. Session one of the quarterfinals and both semifinals are live, while session two of the quarterfinals is tape delayed beginning at 7:30. The championship game will be tape delayed on ESPN2 beginning at 10:30 p.m.

    In addition to being broadcast on CSTV, the women's games can be seen on KBYU in Provo, Cox Cable 4 in San Diego, KULC in Salt Lake City and KWYF and KLKY in Cheyenne, Wyoming. In Albuquerque, the WB will broadcast Wednesday's New Mexico vs. San Diego State noon game.