Four Cowgirls Garner Post Season Honors

March 6, 2006


Four Wyoming Cowgirl basketball team members were recognized on Monday when the Mountain West Conference announced their 2006 All-Conference Team.

Sophomore Hanna Zavecz earned First Team All-Conference and Defensive Player of the Year honors for the first time in her career. Guard Jodi Bolerjack was named to the Third Team, while Erin Hicks was an Honorable Mention All-MWC honoree. Freshman Megan McGuffey got the nod for Newcomer of Year in her first season with the Cowgirls.

"We're very pleased with what we have accomplished this season. To be picked seventh at the beginning of the season and to play in the last game of the season for second place is remarkable," said head coach Joe Legerski. "The recognition by the conference coaches for Hanna being a First Team selection speaks volumes of her play both offensively and defensively. Jodi (Bolerjack) had a tremendous year and was awarded as a Third Team selection. Erin Hicks for the second straight year was recognized as an Honorable Mention selection and is very deserving of the honor. I'm also extremely happy with Megan McGuffey being selected Newcomer of the Year. She has been counted on to contribute immediately and has responded to the challenge."

Zavecz averaged a team leading 14 points, 6.1 rebounds, four assists and 2.3 steals per game. She ranked among the Top 10 in assists (3.94 aspg), blocked shots (1.12 bpg), rebounding (6.6 rpg), scoring (13.7 ppg) and steals (2.06 spg) in league play. Zavecz tallied 12 double-figure scoring games, which included a stretch of seven games in a row.

Bolerjack was second on the team in scoring with 13.1 points per contest. In conference games, she was first in three-point field goals made (2.62 tpfgm), fourth in free throw percentage (.857) and three-point field goal percentage (.416) and seventh in scoring (13.9 ppg).

Hicks, who was an Honorable Mention selection last year, finished her conference season averaging 9.8 points and 5.7 rebounds per game. She also ranked among the Top 15 in assists, field goal percentage, rebounding and steals.

Freshman Megan McGuffey was also recognized as the Newcomer of the Year. The 5-11 guard from Cheyenne, Wyo. averaged 7.5 points and 4.9 rebounds per game in league play. She was one of two freshmen to be ranked among the Top 30 in scoring and the only freshman to be ranked in the Top 20 in rebounding in league play.

The Cowgirls open up play at the Mountain West Conference Tournament on Wednesday in Denver. Their first-round opponent will be TCU. Tip off is set for 8:30 p.m. at the Pepsi Center.

First Team All-Mountain West Conference
^Ambrosia Anderson, BYU, Sr., 6-2, F
^**Kim Smith, Utah, Sr., 6-1, F
Dionne Marsh, New Mexico, So., 6-1 F
*Shona Thorburn, Utah, Sr., 5-11, G
*Sherry McCracklin, UNLV, Sr., 6-2, F
Hanna Zavecz, Wyoming, So., 6-0, F

Second Team All-Mountain West Conference
Natasha Lacy, TCU, Jr., 5-10, G
Katie Montgomery, New Mexico, Jr., 5-10, G
Dani Kubik, BYU, Jr., 6-3, C
Sheena Moore, UNLV, Sr., 5-7, G

Third Team All-Mountain West Conference
Adrianne Ross, TCU, So., 5-8, G
Abbie Letz, New Mexico, Sr., 6-1, G
Melissa Dennett, Colorado State, Sr., 6-2, F
Alecia Steele, Air Force, So., 6-0, F
Jodi Bolerjack, Wyoming, So., 5-9, G

Honorable Mention All-Mountain West Conference
Mallary Gillespie, BYU, So., 5-10, G
Erin Hicks, Wyoming, Sr., 5-9, G
Michelle Strawberry, San Diego State, Sr., 5-10, F
Ashley Davis, TCU, Jr., 6-0, F
Lorie Butler-Rayford, TCU, So., 5-11, F
Melinda Johnsen, BYU, Jr., 5-10, G
Jennie Keele, BYU, Jr., 5-10, G

Co Players of the Year
Ambrosia Anderson, BYU
Kim Smith, Utah

Newcomer of the Year
Megan McGuffey, Wyoming

Defensive Player of the Year
Hanna Zavecz, Wyoming

Coach of the Year
Jeff Judkins, BYU

^-Unanimous Selection
*-Two Time First-Team Selection
**-Four Time First Team Selection
Note: McCracklin was a First Team Selection in 2003-04 and in 2005-06. She did not play in 2004-05