Wyoming's Elliott Named First Team All-MWC For Second Straight Year

March 7, 2005

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Shona Thorburn and Kim Smith of Utah were selected as the Mountain West Conference women's basketball Co-Players of the Year for 2004-05 as chosen by head coaches, the MWC announced Monday. Newcomer of the Year honors went to New Mexico's Dionne Marsh, while Utah's Lana Sitterud was chosen as the Defensive Player of the Year. New Mexico's Don Flanagan, who led the Lobos to a share of the MWC title, earned his first Coach of the Year honor.

Smith earns her third consecutive Player of the Year award, while Thorburn was honored on the second-team last year. Smith led the league in rebounding (8.9 rpg) and was second in scoring (18.6 ppg) during the conference slate, while Thorburn led the league in scoring (19.4 ppg), assists (6.43 apg) and steals (2.79 spg) over the MWC schedule. Both players are juniors.

Eight seniors, five juniors and two freshmen make up this year's all-MWC team. Utah, New Mexico and BYU each had three players honored on the team, while Wyoming, UNLV and Colorado State had two players apiece.

Joining Smith and Thorburn on the all-MWC first team is Ashley Elliott of Wyoming and Lindsey Arndt of New Mexico, who each earned their second straight selection to the first-team. BYU's Julie Sullivan was selected to the first- team for the first time after being a second-team selection last year.

Sheena Moore of UNLV and Mandi Moore of New Mexico were honored on the second-team for the second year in a row, while Melissa Dennett of Colorado State earned second-team recognition after being on the third-team last year. RanDee Henry of UNLV was chosen on the second-team after being a first-team selection last year, while freshman Hanna Zavecz of Wyoming also was on the five-member second team.

BYU's Danielle Cheesman and Kristen Kozlowski, Utah's Lana Sitterud, Colorado State's Lindsay Thomas and Marsh were all-MWC third-team honorees. Thomas earns her second straight third-team honor, while Cheesman was an honorable mention pick last year.

Flanagan earned his first Coach of the Year award after leading New Mexico to its second consecutive MWC crown.

2004-05 All-Mountain West Conference Women's Basketball Team

First Team All-Mountain West Conference
Shona Thorburn, Utah, Jr., 5-11, G
*Kim Smith, Utah, Jr., 6-1, F
*Ashley Elliott, Wyoming, Sr., 5-7, G
*Lindsey Arndt, New Mexico, Sr., 6-1, F
Julie Sullivan, BYU, Sr., 5-8, G

Second Team All-Mountain West Conference
*Sheena Moore, UNLV, Jr., 5-7, G
*Mandi Moore, New Mexico, Sr., 5-7, G
RanDee Henry, UNLV, Sr., 6-1, F
Melissa Dennett, Colorado State, Jr., 6-2, F
Hanna Zavecz, Wyoming, Fr., 6-0, F

Third Team All-Mountain West Conference
Dionne Marsh, New Mexico, Fr., 6-1, F
*Lindsay Thomas, Colorado State, Jr., 6-3, C
Danielle Cheesman, BYU, Sr., 6-2, F
Lana Sitterud, Utah, Sr., 5-10, G
Kristen Kozlowski, BYU, 6-2, Sr., F

Honorable Mention All-Mountain West Conference
Alecia Steele, Air Force, Fr., 6-0, F
Katie Montgomery, New Mexico, So., 5-10, G
Michelle Strawberry, San Diego State, Jr., 5-10, G
Erin Hicks, Wyoming, Jr., 5-9, G
Michelle Elliott, San Diego State, So., 5-11, G
Sequoia Holmes, UNLV, Fr., 6-1, F
*Ambrosia Anderson, BYU, Jr., 6-2, F
Lauren Henderson, Air Force, Fr., 5-5, G

Co-Players of the Year: Kim Smith, Utah and Shona Thorburn, Utah
Newcomer of the Year: Dionne Marsh, New Mexico
Defensive Player of the Year: Lana Sitterud, Utah
Coach of the Year: Don Flanagan, New Mexico

*notes repeat selection

Shona Thorburn (Utah) - Co-Player of the Year, First Team All-MWC
A second-team selection a year ago, Utah's Shona Thorburn is this year's Co-Player of the Year after helping Utah to its second consecutive MWC title. She led the league in scoring (19.4 ppg), assists (6.43 apg) and steals (2.79 spg) during the conference slate. She eclipsed 1,000 career points earlier this season and also ranks third all-time in the MWC in assists.

Kim Smith (Utah) - Co-Player of the Year, First Team All-MWC
Kim Smith earns her third straight MWC Player of the Year and first-team award. She led the league in rebounding (8.9 rpg) and field goal percentage (53.7 percent) and was second in scoring (18.6 ppg) over the MWC schedule. Just a junior, she is already fifth all-time in conference history in scoring (1,536 points) and needs just 525 points to eclipse Erin Thorn of BYU (2,061 points).

Ashley Elliott (Wyoming) - First Team All-MWC
Wyoming's Ashley Elliott earns her second straight first-team selection as she helped lead the Cowgirls to a No. 4 seed in the MWC tournament, their highest ever. Elliott ranks third in the league in scoring (16.3 ppg), is second in assists (4.21 apg) and third in steals (2.14 spg) over the conference season.

Lindsey Arndt (New Mexico) - First Team All-MWC
New Mexico's Lindsey Arndt earns her second straight first-team selection as she helped lead New Mexico to its second consecutive conference title and a No. 1 seed in the conference tournament. Arndt was seventh in rebounding (6.6 rpg) and 10th in scoring (12.6 ppg) in conference play.

Julie Sullivan (BYU) - First Team All-MWC
BYU's Julie Sullivan helped BYU to a No. 3 seed in this year's MWC Championship. She was ninth in the league in scoring (12.7 ppg) and seventh in assists (3.64 apg). She led BYU with 18 double-figure scoring games this season.