Three Cowgirls Garner MWC Post-Season Honors

March 8, 2010


Three members of the Wyoming Cowgirl basketball team were recognized on Monday as the Mountain West Conference announced the 2010 All-Conference Team.

"For Aubrey (Vandiver), Hillary (Carlson) and Emma (Langford) to receive All-Conference honors is a tribute to their hard work and to team success," said UW head coach Joe Legerski. "Without that, individual success is hard to come by."

Junior Hillary Carlson earned Second Team All-Conference honors for the second year in a row, while guard Aubrey Vandiver was also named Second Team All-Conference. Sophomore Emma Langford was selected Third Team All-MWC.

Carlson, from Cheyenne, Wyo., averaged a team leading 16.4 points and 3.2 blocks, while adding seven rebounds. She ranked among the Top 10 in scoring, rebounding, blocks, field goal percentage and free throw percentage. She tallied 20 double-figure scoring games and four double-doubles.

Vandiver, from Laramie, Wyo., led the way with 10.1 rebounds and 1.5 per contest, while adding 15.3 points and 2.6 assists. She ranked second in rebounding and seventh in scoring, along with reaching double-figures in 20 games and recording a league high 15 double-doubles.

Langford, a forward from Arthurton, Australia, averaged 12.8 points and 3.3 assists per game. She ranked first in three-point field goal percentage, 11th in scoring and assists.

The Cowgirls open up play at the Mountain West Conference Tournament Tuesday, March 9, in Las Vegas. Their first-round opponent will be the UNLV Lady Rebels. Tip off is set for 8 p.m. Mountain Time at the Thomas and Mack Center.

First Team All-Mountain West Conference

  • Helena Sverrisdottir, Jr., G/F, 6-1, TCU
  • Emily Carter, Jr., G, 6-1, TCU
  • Kalee Whipple, Sr., F, 6-0, Utah
  • Jené Morris, Sr., G, 5-9, San Diego State
  • Amy Beggin, Sr., G, 5-6, New Mexico

    Second Team All-Mountain West Conference

  • Mindy Bonham, Jr., G, 5-10, BYU
  • Kim Mestdagh, So., G/F, 5-10, Colorado State
  • Paris Johnson, Jr., C, 6-4, San Diego State
  • Taryn Wicijowski, Fr., C, 6-2, Utah
  • Hillary Carlson, Jr., F, 6-3, Wyoming
  • Aubrey Vandiver, Jr., G, 5-11, Wyoming

    Third Team All-Mountain West Conference

  • Quenese Davis, Sr., G, 5-10, San Diego State
  • TK LaFleur, Sr., G, 5-8, TCU
  • Erica Helms, Jr., G, 5-7, UNLV
  • Emma Langford, So., F, 6-2, Wyoming

    Honorable Mention All-Mountain West Conference

  • Raimee Beck, Jr., G, 5-8, Air Force
  • Jazmine Foreman, Jr., G, 5-5, BYU
  • Haley Hall, Jr., G, 5-4, BYU
  • Kristen Riley, So., F, 6-3, BYU
  • Coriann Wood, Jr., F, 6-1, BYU
  • Amanda Best, Jr., G/F, 6-0, New Mexico
  • Jessica Kielpinski, Jr., F, 6-1, New Mexico
  • Starr Crawford, Fr., F, 6-0, TCU
  • Eboni Mangum, Sr., G, 5-8, TCU
  • Jamie Smith, So., G/F, 6-0 UNLV

    All-Defensive Team

  • Mindy Bonham, Jr., G, 5-10, BYU
  • Jazmine Foreman, Jr., G, 5-5, BYU
  • Amy Beggin, Sr., G, 5-6, New Mexico
  • Jené Morris, Sr., G, 5-9, San Diego State
  • Eboni Mangum, Sr., G, 5-8, TCU
  • Halie Sawyer, Sr., F, 6-1, Utah

    Player of the Year: Helena Sverrisdottir, TCU
    Newcomer of the Year: Jessika Bradley, San Diego State
    Freshman of the Year: Taryn Wicijowski, Utah
    Defensive Player of the Year: Jené Morris, San Diego State
    6th Player of the Year: Coriann Wood, BYU
    Coach of the Year: Jeff Mittie, TCU