Four Cowgirls Garner Post Season Honors

March 9, 2009


Four members of the Wyoming Cowgirl basketball team were recognized on Monday as the Mountain West Conference announced the 2009 All-Conference Team.

Sophomore Hillary Carlson earned Second Team All-Conference honors for the first time in her career. Guard Megan McGuffey was named Third Team All-Conference, while freshman Kristen Scheffler was selected Honorable Mention All-MWC. Freshman Emma Langford was also given the Sixth Man of the Year Award.

Carlson averaged a team leading 11.6 points and 1.1 blocks, while adding 5.3 rebounds. She ranked among the Top 15 in scoring, blocks, field goal percentage and free throw percentage. She tallied 16 double-figure scoring games and two double-doubles.

McGuffey led the team with seven rebounds per contest, while adding 10.6 points and 2.52 assists. She ranked eighth in rebounding and 17th in scoring.

Scheffler finished the regular season with 10.4 points along with 2.3 rebounds and 1.5 points. She was ranked second in three-point field goals made, 14th in three-point field goal percentage and 18th in scoring.

Langford came off the bench and averaged 10.3 points, 4.6 rebounds and 2.72 assists per game.

Five seniors, five juniors and five sophomores make up this year's all-MWC team. Five all-conference picks were repeat selections from 2007-08.

The Cowgirls open up play at the Mountain West Conference Tournament Tuesday, March 10, in Las Vegas. Their first-round opponent will be the Colorado State Rams. Tip off is set for 5:30 p.m. Mountain Time at the Thomas and Mack Center.

First Team All-Mountain West Conference
Student-Athlete School Class Height Position
#**Morgan Warburton Utah Sr. 5-11 G
#**Kalee Whipple Utah Jr. 6-0 F
#Helena Sverrisdottir TCU So. 6-2 G
Paris Johnson San Diego State So. 6-4 C
*Jené Morris San Diego State Jr. 5-9 G
Second Team All-Mountain West Conference
*Amy Beggin New Mexico Jr. 5-6 G
*Quenese Davis San Diego State Jr. 5-9 G
TK LaFleur TCU Jr. 5-8 G
Hillary Carlson Wyoming So. 6-3 F
Emily Carter TCU So. 6-1 G
Katie King Utah Sr. 6-1 F
Third Team All-Mountain West Conference
**Shamela Hampton UNLV Sr. 6-3 C
Angela Hartill New Mexico Sr. 6-3 C
Mindy Nielson BYU So. 5-10 G
Megan McGuffey Wyoming Sr. 5-11 F
Honorable Mention All-Mountain West Conference
Jamie Smith UNLV Fr. 6-0 G/F
Raimee Beck Air Force Jr. 5-8 G
Cassie King BYU Sr. 6-3 C
Shawnee Slade BYU Sr. 5-11 G/F
Kristen Scheffler Wyoming Fr. 5-11 G
All-Defensive Team
Jené Morris San Diego State Jr. 5-9 G
Paris Johnson San Diego State So. 6-4 C
Mindy Nielson BYU So. 5-10 G
Quenese Davis San Diego State Jr. 5-9 G
Amy Beggin New Mexico Jr. 5-6 G
Player of the Year
Morgan Warburton, Utah
Newcomer of the Year:
TK LaFleur, TCU
Freshman of the Year:
Jamie Smith, UNLV
Defensive Player of the Year:
Jené Morris, San Diego State
6th Player of the Year:
Emma Langford, Wyoming
Coach of the Year:
Beth Burns, San Diego State
* notes repeat all-conference selection
** notes three-time all-conference selection
# notes unanimous first-team selection