U.S. House of Representatives Passes Resolution Honoring UW Cowgirls

July 23, 2007


The United States House of Representatives unanimously passed a bill on Monday sponsored by Wyoming Congresswoman Barbara Cubin congratulating the University of Wyoming women's basketball team on their triumphant 2007 season and Women's National Invitational Tournament (WNIT) victory.

"Wyoming could not be more proud of these fourteen outstanding student athletes and their coach Joe Legerski," Cubin said. "Their hard work, perseverance and talent brought home the first WNIT title in University of Wyoming history. It is my honor to recognize the great achievement of these young women and their coaches."

The bill, H.R. 384, congratulates the University of Wyoming Cowgirls for capturing the first WNIT title in UW history and defeating the University of Wisconsin Badgers by a score of 72-56 on March 31, 2007. The Cowgirls victory came in front of a crowd of more than 15,000 fans, the largest crowd ever assembled at Laramie's Arena-Auditorium for a women's basketball game.

"I thank my colleagues in the House of Representatives who join me in applauding Amy Bolerjack, her sister Jodi Bolerjack, Mallory Cline, Elisabeth Dissen, Annie Gorenstein, Angiah Harris, Gemma Koehler, Megan McGuffey, Megan Mordecai, Justyna Podziemska, Dominique Sisk, Rebecca Vanderjagt, Aubrey Vandiver, and tournament MVP Hanna Zavecz for their outstanding achievement," Cubin said. "These Cowgirls have proven they know how to get 'er done and are truly an inspiration to us all."