Women's Basketball Coaches and Media Pick Wyoming Fifth In Preseason Poll

Oct. 13, 2010

DENVER, Colo. -

The Wyoming Cowgirl basketball team was picked to finish fifth as the Mountain West Conference announced its 2010-11 preseason women's basketball poll and all-conference team today at its Basketball Media Day held at The Mtn. Studios in Denver, Colo. The voting panel consisted of the league's nine head coaches and select women's basketball media. Senior Hillary Carlson was also selected to the Pre-Season All-Conference Team.

"I'm excited for the start of the season and being selected fifth," said UW head coach Joe Legerski. "The fifth spot selection mirrors our team. We have tremendous experience in with our upperclassmen and the inexperience of the other players puts us in the middle. I'm hoping we can improve on that. The last Wyoming player selected was Hanna Zavecz. It's a great tribute to Hillary to be a pre-season All-Conference selection."

TCU was tabbed as the preseason favorite after taking the 2009-10 MWC regular-season title and earning an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament. The Horned Frogs received 16 first-place votes and 174 total points. San Diego State, the 2009-10 MWC tournament champion, collected three first-place votes and finished second with 147 points, just two points ahead of third-place BYU with 145 points and two first-place votes. Utah (116 points) placed fourth, followed by Wyoming (103 points), New Mexico (100 points), UNLV (64 points), Colorado State (59 points) and Air Force (28 points).

Last year's MWC Player of the Year, TCU senior guard/forward Helena Sverrisdottir, earned Preseason Player of the Year honors. San Diego State teammates Melissa Sweat and Courtney Clements were tabbed Preseason Freshman of the Year and Newcomer of the Year by the group. Four of the nine MWC teams were represented on the all-conference team, including four seniors and one sophomore. Sverrisdottir is a two-time all-MWC first team selection and earned WBCA State Farm Honorable Mention and Associated Press Honorable Mention All-American accolades last season. She is joined on the preseason all-MWC team by teammate Emily Carter, San Diego State's Paris Johnson, Wyoming's Hillary Carlson and Utah's Taryn Wicijowski, the 2009-10 MWC Freshman of the Year.