Women's Basketball Coaches and Media Pick Wyoming Fourth In Preseason Poll

Oct. 22, 2012


The Wyoming Cowgirl basketball team was picked to finish fourth as the Mountain West announced its 2012-13 preseason women's basketball poll and all-conference team today. The voting panel consisted of the league's nine head coaches and select women's basketball media. Newcomer Aubry Boehme was also selected as the Preseason Newcomer of the Year in the league.

Defending MW regular-season and tournament champion San Diego State was tabbed as the preseason favorite. The Aztecs received 22 first-place votes and 198 total points. Newcomer Fresno State collected two first-place votes and waspicked to finish second with 163 points, while UNLV (137 points) edged out Wyoming (136 points) for third place.Colorado State (109 points) placed fifth, followed by New Mexico in sixth place (97 points), Boise State in seventh (86points), newcomer Nevada in eighth (41 points) and Air Force in ninth (32 points).

San Diego State senior guard Courtney Clements was named the 2012-13 MW Preseason Player of the Year. Clements, a 6-0 guard from Long Beach, Calif., was the 2011-12 MW Player of the Year and an Associated Press and Women's Basketball Coaches Association honorable mention All-American. Clements is the top returning scorer in the league,averaging 17.4 points per game last season. She is joined on the preseason all-MW team by teammate Chelsea Hopkins, a senior guard and the 2012 MW Newcomer of the Year, Boise State senior forward Lauren Lenhardt, New Mexico senior guard Caroline Durbin, and Fresno State junior guard Ki-Ki Moore. San Diego State redshirt freshman forward Deajanae Scurry was named Preseason Freshman of the Year, while Wyoming junior transfer forward Aubry Boehme earned Preseason Newcomer of the Year honors.

2012-13 Mountain West Preseason Poll

Rk Team (1st place votes) Points
1 San Diego State (22) 198
2 Fresno State (2) 163
3 UNLV 137
4 Wyoming 136
5 Colorado State 109
6 New Mexico 97
7 Boise State 86
8 Nevada 41
9 Air Force 32

2012-13 Mountain West Preseason Honorees

Name, Class, Pos.

Lauren Lenhardt, Sr., F Boise State
Ki-Ki Moore, Jr., G Fresno State
Caroline Durbin, Sr., G New Mexico
Courtney Clements, Sr., G San Diego State
Chelsea Hopkins, Sr., G San Diego State
Preseason Player of the Year Courtney Clements, Sr., G, San Diego State
Preseason Newcomer of the Year Aubry Boehme, Jr., F, Wyoming
Preseason Freshman of the Year Deajanae Scurry, R-Fr., F, San Diego State