Athlete of the Week Archive

April 21, 2006

LARAMIE, Wyo. -




Lindsay Bauknecht


How long have you been golfing competitively?
"I've been playing competitively since I was a freshman in high school."

Do you have any other hobbies other than golf?
"I like to play all sports. I grew up playing all sports. I also enjoy reading and watching movies."

With your father being in the military, you moved around quite a bit growing up. How would you compare Laramie to some of the other places that you have lived?
"Well I've mostly lived on the coasts. I've lived in California, Virginia, Hawaii and Florida. It's a little bit colder here, but we used to vacation up here over Christmas so I knew what to expect. It's also a lot smaller town than some of the places I've lived and moves a little slower, but it's perfect for college.

What's it like dealing with the Wyoming weather and not always being able to practice outdoors?
"It's not that bad hitting inside because when I lived in Virginia I used to have to hit off mats indoors. So it was something that I was used to. Last year when we played in Oregon it was really cold and we felt like we had an advantage because we're used to it and we've learned how to deal with the weather. I don't think it's a big factor."

Is it hard for you to stay caught up on all of your schoolwork with all of the class you miss traveling to golf tournaments?
"Yeah it is. Luckily I've never really had a teacher who's made it difficult for me to make up work that I missed. You just have to stay on top of your work and meet your teachers right away and get a good relationship going. They're usually really helpful."

What professional golfer do you enjoy watching the most?
"I like watching Tiger Woods, of course, Mike Weir and Fred Couples. On the LPGA I like watching Kristi Kerr."

What are your goals for the upcoming Mountain West Tournament?
"It's a pretty difficult course, but I played it last year and shot in the Mid 80's all three rounds. I'm just going to try stick with that goal and not have too many big numbers."

What's your major and your plans after college?
"I'm a criminal justice major and I just declared this semester. As for plans, I'm not really sure yet. I think I want to stay in the golf industry but who knows. I `m going to try and figure things out this summer."