Cowgirl Golf Concludes Play at the BYU Dixie Classic

April 5, 2006

ST. GEORGE, Utah -

Complete Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The University of Wyoming Cowgirl golf team finished their final round on Wednesday at the 54-hole BYU Dixie Classic. The Cowgirls tied for 17th place of 19 schools with a tournament total of 1,031 (+167). UW shot a final day score of 352 (+64) at the Entrada at Snow Canyon golf course.

On a rainy, windy day when many team scores shot upward, UNLV lowered their round from the previous day and won the team title for the fourth year in a row, with a score of 924 (+60). BYU was second (927) and New Mexico placed third (934).

"Since the MWC Championships are on this same course, there is quite a bit that we can take from this tournament," said UW head coach Josey Stender. "We know that the course is scorable, so during our upcoming practices we will work on certain aspects of our game and adapt to Entrada.

"This team wants to end the season on a good note, but we need to be on as a team in order to do that. We will requalify five players over the next few practices and see who wants to compete in our biggest event of the year."

Entrada will be the site of the 2006 Mountain West Conference Women's Golf Championships, April 20-22, and six of the seven MWC schools that sponsor women's golf played this tournament as a tune-up event. Only TCU was not in the BYU Dixie Classic field. The 2006 MWC Championships will be the next competition for the Cowgirls.

Entrada is a par 72, 6,151 yard course.

UNLV's Seema Sadekar finished atop the individual leaderboard at 223 (+7), two strokes ahead of Portland State's Haley Brown and Sadekar's teammate Da Sol Chung (225). Day two leader, Mikaela Backstedt of New Mexico, slipped into a tie for fourth with UC Davis' Danielle Cvitanov (229).

Sophomore Laura Mengelkamp had the best UW finish, a tie for 59th of 101 golfers, with a score of 250 (+34). Not far back was Wyoming freshman Mikala Henzlik (255), followed by Cowgirl juniors Kayla Morrison (257), Michelle Camaione (276) and Whitney Hernandez (278).