Cowgirl Golf to Play Mountain West Conference Tournament

April 20, 2005


The University of Wyoming women's golf team will begin play tomorrow at the Mountain West Conference Tournament which will run April 21-23 in Sunriver, Ore.

The 2005 MWC Women's Golf Championship will be held Thursday through Saturday at Sunriver Resort in Sunriver, Oregon. It will be the fifth consecutive year that the event will be held at the resort. Teams will once again play the Meadows Course which features tremendous variety within its 18 holes, seven of which border the meandering Deschutes River. The Meadows measures 6,312 yards and plays to a par of 71.

"We are looking to play three solid rounds," said UW head women's coach Jill Rettinger. "The girls are excited and have been practicing well, so we are hoping to build off of that and end our season on a positive note.

"The weather forecast looks to be good and the Meadows is a tree-lined, traditional course which should play to our strengths."

Each team will play five golfers and count the top four scores. Wyoming's young contingent will consist of three freshmen and two sophomores. UW will travel sophomores Michelle Camaione and Whitney Hernandez, as well as freshmen Kaelee Aegerter, Lindsay Bauknecht and Laura Mengelkamp.

On the strength of two top-20 finishes in her last three tournaments, including a first place finish, Mengelkamp is currently ranked 14th in the MWC for stroke average. She is averaging 77.50 strokes after playing 26 rounds so far this season. New Mexico senior Kailin Downs currently leads the MWC with a 73.95 average.

"Laura has had a good year," said Rettinger. "With a strong conference tournament she has a chance to win Freshman of the Year honors."

Six of the eight MWC schools sponsor women's golf programs. The six women's golf programs are: Wyoming, Brigham Young, Colorado State, New Mexico, San Diego State and UNLV.

The championship will consist of 54 holes, 18 each day, with tee times at 9 a.m. (PT).

The Cowgirls will be grouped with Colorado State and UNLV during first round action, while the second group will consist of BYU, New Mexico and San Diego State.

The winner of the MWC Tournament receives the conference's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

UNLV won the 2004 team title while Rebel Sunny Oh won the individual crown.

Wyoming does own a bit of MWC Championships history, thanks to Cowgirl Jordan Lintz winning the inaugural conference tournament individual title in 2000.

The MWC will provide live stats for the Championship. You can find the live stats link on the MWC Golf Championship webpage at Simply click the golf championship link to track all the action. You can also go directly to to find the live stat link.