MWC Announces Women's Soccer All-Academic Team

Feb. 14, 2002


Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The Mountain West Conference announced its2001 Academic All-Conference team today for women's soccer. To be eligible forselection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have completed at leastone academic term at the member institution, maintain a cumulative grade pointaverage of 3.0 or better and be a starter or significant contributor to theteam.

Sixty-seven student-athletes earned MWC academic honors in 2001, including 30repeat selections from the 2000 squad. Utah and UNLV shared the league-highwith 14 student-athletes each qualifying for conference academic honors, followed by New Mexico and Wyoming at 13, BYU (6), San Diego State (4) and Air Force (3).

The Academic All-Conference team is highlighted by 2001 All-Mountain West first-team members Aleisha Cramer (BYU), Shelly Hammock (New Mexico), Amy Kofoed (Utah) and second-team selections Kim Devine (BYU), Michelle Longmire (New Mexico), Nicole McCarty (New Mexico), Erchen Theys (New Mexico), Bobbie Benegas (Utah), and Jessica Piccone (Wyoming).

Attached (see PDF) is a list of Academic All-Mountain West Conferenceselections grouped alphabetically by school (*notes repeat selection).