Four Wyoming Soccer Players Win National Club Championship

Aug. 2, 2006


Four University of Wyoming soccer players recently won the U.S. Soccer National Club Championship in Des Moines, Iowa as members of the under-19 Colorado Rush.

UW sophomores Jennifer Bucher, Amanda Lathrop, Jamie Scarcliff and Corey Thieman are all members of the national championship Rush team.

"We are so proud to have four players of such a high caliber representing Wyoming on the national level," said UW head coach Anne Moore. "To be a part of a national championship team is a real honor and I am very proud of these four girls."

The Rush defeated an Illinois Club team, the Eclipse Select, 3-2 in the national championship match on Sunday, July 30. The Rush jumped out to a 3-0 halftime lead, with the first goal of the match coming from Lathrop in the 13th minute. The Rush surrendered two second half goals, one in the 53rd minute and another in the 82nd, but ultimately held on to a one goal advantage to win the national championship 3-2. Scarcliff recorded the win in the Rush net, making eight saves.

Both Lathrop and Scarcliff had exceptional tournaments and were awarded for their accomplishments by being named the tournament's most valuable players. Lathrop received the Adidas Golden Boot Award for the top position player while Scarcliff received the Adidas Golden Glove Award for the best goalkeeper.

"It is great to see Amanda and Jamie honored the way they were," added Moore. "Some of the best college players in the nation were a part of this tournament and it is great to have Wyoming players at the top of that list."

The Rush made it to the national final four in Des Moines after winning the Colorado State Championship as well as the West Regional Championship earlier this summer. The champion of all four regions, East, West, Midwest and South, competed in the final four in Des Moines. Of the 16 players on the Rush Roster, all are on scholarship at NCAA Division I schools.