Wyoming's Mercy Adetoye and Kara Walters Named to All-MWC Teams

Nov. 1, 2005


The Mountain West Conference announced its 2005 women's soccer awards today at its pre-championship banquet in Las Vegas, Nev. The league's eight head coaches selected the all-conference first and second teams, Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year. The soccer championship begins Wednesday, Nov. 2, at Peter Johann Memorial Field on the UNLV campus.

Wyoming senior forward Mercy Adetoye was named to the MWC First Team and Cowgirl senior defender Kara Walters was named to the Second Team. Adetoye, a native of Englewood, Colo., is a First Team selection for the third consecutive season while Walters, a Casper, Wyo. native, was selected to the Second Team for the second straight season.

Junior forward Amanda Feigt of Utah garnered Offensive Player of the Year honors, while Ute junior defender Melissa Wayman earned the Defensive Player of the Year award. Adele Letro of Utah was selected as Freshman of the Year, and Utah coach Rich Manning collected Coach of the Year accolades for the second time at the helm of the Utes. Utah won its second regular-season women's soccer championship this year.

BYU, Utah and UNLV each placed three players on the all-MWC first team, while San Diego State and Wyoming each had one first-team honoree. Jenna Huff of UNLV was honored as the first-team goalkeeper.

Utah is the No. 1 seed in the MWC Championship, Nov. 2-5, at UNLV. Action gets underway Wednesday at 11:30 a.m. when the Cowgirls take on the Lobos.

2005 All-Mountain West Conference Women's Soccer Team
First Team

Jaime Rendich Beck, Sr., Midfielder, BYU*
Amanda Feigt, Jr., Forward, Utah**
Melissa Wayman, Jr., Defender, Utah
Tanya Roberts, Jr. Forward, UNLV
Nickie Olson, Sr., Defender, UNLV
Mercy Adetoye, Sr., Forward, Wyoming**
Adele Letro, Fr., Fr., Forward, Utah
Charlene Lui, Sr., Midfielder, BYU
Alexis Solovij, Sr., Defender, San Diego State**
Katie Larkin, Fr., Forward, BYU
Goalkeeper: Jenna Huff, Sr., UNLV*

Second Team
Nicole Anderson, Sr., Defender, BYU
Katie Carney, So., Midfielder, UNLV
Ashley Lowery, Jr., Defender, New Mexico
Kristine Sweat, Jr., Forward, New Mexico
Kara Walters, Sr., Defender, Wyoming
Erika Sutton, Fr., Forward, San Diego State
Brittney Perkowski, Jr., Forward, Air Force
Bobbi Tillotson, Jr., Midfielder, BYU
Alanna Abeyta, Jr., Defender, New Mexico
Karissa Hill, Jr., Defender, TCU
Goalkeeper: Ashley Mason, Jr., Utah

* Indicates repeat first-team selection
** Indicates two-time first-team selection

Offensive Player of the Year: Amanda Feigt, Utah
Defensive Player of the Year: Melissa Wayman, Utah
Freshman of the Year: Adele Letro, MF, Utah
Coach of the Year: Rich Manning, Utah