Wyoming's Adetoye Named First Team All-Conference For Second Straight Year

Nov. 3, 2004


The Mountain West Conference announced its 2004 women's soccer all-league teams today at its pre-championship banquet in Provo, Utah. The league's seven head coaches selected the all-conference first and second teams, Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year and Coach of the Year. The soccer championship begins Wednesday, Nov. 3 at South Field on the BYU campus.

Senior forward Annii Magliulo of UNLV garnered Offensive Player of the Year honors, while San Diego State junior Alexis Solovij earned the Defensive Player of the Year award. Erika Woodbury of BYU was selected as Freshman of the Year. UNLV coach Dan Abdalla collected Coach of the Year accolades in his fifth year as coach of the Rebels. UNLV won its first-ever regular-season women's soccer championship this year.

San Diego State and UNLV each placed three players on the all-MWC first team, while Utah and BYU each had two first-team honorees. Wyoming had one player selected. Jenna Huff, also of UNLV, was honored as the first-team goalkeeper.

Magliulo was tabbed as Offensive Player of the Year after leading UNLV to its first conference title and a league-high 28 goals scored on the year, including 12 in conference games, also a league high. Magliulo tied for first in goals scored with three and was second in points scored with seven. Solovij earned Defensive Player of the Year honors as she led the Aztecs to a second-place tie in conference action. She helped anchor a defense that did not surrender a goal in 567:52 during the latter part of the season. Freshman of the Year honors went to BYU goalkeeper Erika Woodbury. Woodbury was second in conference play with three shutouts as the Cougars finished tied for second with San Diego State.

UNLV is the No. 1 seed in the MWC Championship, Nov. 3-6, at BYU. Action gets underway Wednesday at 2 p.m.

2004 All-Mountain West Conference Women's Soccer Team

First Team
Jaime Rendich, Jr., Forward, BYU
Claire Thomas, So., Defender, BYU
Noelle Jouglet, Sr., Dfender, San Diego State
Sophia Perez, Sr., GK, San Diego State
Alexis Solevij, Jr., Defender, San Diego State
Annii Magliulo, Sr., Forward, UNLV
Jenny Ruiz, Sr., Defender, UNLV
Amanda Feigt, So., Forward, Utah
Tracy Stratton Garner, Sr., Midfielder, Utah
Mercy Adetoye, Jr., Forward, Wyoming
Goalkeeper: Jenna Huff, Jr., UNLV

Second Team
Elaine Tatarek, Sr., Forward, Air Force
Charlene Lui, Jr., Midfielder, BYU
Brittany Emerson, So., Midfielder, New Mexico
Anna Neu, Fr., Midfielder, New Mexico
Amanda Swiader, Jr., Defender, San Diego State
Kiley Jones, Fr., Midfielder, Utah
Kim Lloyd, Jr., Forward, Utah
Mari Gomes, Sr., Forward, Wyoming
Kara Walters, Jr., Defender, Wyoming
Lindsey Vossbrink, Sr., Midfielder, Wyoming
Goalkeeper: Ericka Woodbury, Fr., BYU

Offensive Player of the Year: Annii Magliulo, UNLV
Defensive Player of the Year: Alexis Solevij, SDSU
Freshman of the Year: Erika Woodbury, GK, BYU
Coach of the Year: Dan Abdalla, UNLV