Wyoming Earns Five Mountain West Awards

Nov. 4, 2014

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The University of Wyoming women's soccer team continued a banner season by collecting five Mountain West honors on Tuesday, as the league office announced the 2014 all-conference teams. Cowgirl head coach Pete Cuadrado was named the Coach of the Year, while Kaitlyn Lomsnes earned Freshman of the Year and Offensive Player of the Year in addition to All-MW First Team. Alison Clarke rounded out UW's honorees with All-MW Second Team.

Cuadrado collected Wyoming's third Coach of the Year accolade by leading the Cowgirls to an 8-3 mark in conference play for second in the MW standings. The finish tied UW's highest ever in the conference after being picked eighth in the preseason poll. Cuadrado helped Wyoming finish a perfect 6-0-0 at home this season for the first undefeated home record in program history. Danny Sanchez (2011) and Anne Moore (2003) were UW's previous MW Coach of the Year honorees.

Lomsnes is the first freshman in the history of the MW to earn the conference's Offensive Player of the Year award and the first Cowgirl to claim the honor since Tamika Wilson in 2007. Lomsnes is also the second Cowgirl to claim Freshman of the Year, joining Sara Paul in 2011. The forward led the conference with 10 goals and 22 points, as her 10 goals are tied for second in UW single-season history and her four game-winning goals are also second.

Clarke, a senior defender, has 11 points this season on three goals and five assists to earn the first MW honor of her career.

Wyoming continues its season at this week's MW tournament in San Diego, Calif. The Cowgirls face the winner of New Mexico and Boise State in the semifinals on Thursday at 5 p.m. MT.

2014 Mountain West Women's Soccer All-Conference First TeamMikhalia Bowden, Sr., D, Boise State^
Brooke Heidemann, Jr., MF, Boise State&
Jessie Ayers, Sr., MF, Colorado College
Sarah Schweiss, Jr., F, Colorado College
Jaycee Bingham, Sr., MF/F, Fresno State
Kelsey Booth, Sr., MF, San Diego State^
Haley Locker, Sr., F, San Diego State
Katie Perry, Sr., MF, San Diego State
Zoe Makrigiannis, Jr., GK, San José State
Taryn Rose, Sr., D, Utah State^
Kaitlyn Lomsnes, Fr., F, Wyoming

2014 Mountain West Women's Soccer All-Conference Second TeamRachel Herron, Sr., MF/F, Colorado College
Kaeli Vandersluis, Sr., MF/F, Colorado College
Chrisalyn Fonte, Sr., MF, Nevada^
Emily Chavez, R-Fr., D, New Mexico
Dylann O'Connor, Jr., MF, New Mexico^
Cassie Ulrich, Jr., GK, New Mexico
Hannah Keane, Sr., F, San Diego State&
Stacie Moran, Fr., D, San Diego State
Denali Murnan, Jr., MF, UNLV
Lexie Morgan, Sr., MF, Utah State
Alison Clarke, Sr., D, Wyoming

Offensive Player of the Year: Kaitlyn Lomsnes, Fr., F, Wyoming
Defensive Player of the Year: Taryn Rose, Sr., D, Utah State
Freshman of the Year: Kaitlyn Lomsnes, Fr., F, Wyoming
Coach of the Year: Pete Cuadrado, Wyoming

& = indicates a three-time selection^ = indicates a two-time selection