MWC Announces Women's Soccer All-Conference Teams

Nov. 3, 1999


The Mountain West Conference announced it's all-conference teams today at the women's soccer championship which is being held at the ARCO Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, Calif. BYU's senior forward Maren Hendershot was named the MWC Player of the Year, while Air Force forward Kari James garnered freshman of the year honors and Utah's Amy Winslow was named coach of the year.

Cowgirl senior midfielder Nan Sommer was named to the All-Conference Second Team, and was UW's lone representative on the team. The honor was the first time Sommer has been named to an all-conference team in her four-year UW career. Sommer started 18 of 19 games this season for Wyoming, and was singled out for her solid play multiple times by first-year head coach Anne Moore.

BYU led the way with five all-conference selections, including three first-team honorees. Utah also placed three players on the first team and one on the second team. The Cougars and Utes, along with San Diego State, tied for the regular season title with identical 5-1 league records. Air Force, who placed fourth in the conference, had two representatives on the first-team and another on the second-team.

BYU senior forward Maren Hendershot was selected by the coaches as the MWC Player of the Year honors. This was the second such honor for Hendershot after being named conference Pacific Division Player of the Year and NSCAA third team All-American in 1998. The four-time all-conference first-team selection from Colorado Springs, Colo., leads the league in total points with 34 and ranks tied for second in goals with 13.

Air Force forward Kari James was selected as the MWC Freshman of the Year. She was named the MWC Player of the Week on Oct. 18 after recording two goals and one assist in a weekend sweep of conference foes Wyoming and New Mexico. James, from Naperville, Ill. (Naperville High School), leads the Falcons with five goals and 12 points.

Utah's Amy Winslow was named MWC Coach of the Year after leading the Utes to their first-ever conference co-championship. Utah compiled a 12-6 overall regular season record and a 5-1 conference mark this season. The 12 victories tied the school record for most wins in a single season, while the five league victories set a new conference win mark for the Utes.

First Team

Staci Burt , UTAH, F, 5-3, Sr., Salt Lake City, Utah/WaukeeJayme Dieringer, UNM, D, 5-8, Jr., Arvada, Colo./Arvada WestMaren Hendershot, BYU, F, 5-8, Sr., Colorado Springs, Colo./DohertyKari James, AFA, F, 5-8, Fr., Naperville, Ill./NapervilleAmy Kofoed, UTAH, M, 5-6, So., Layton, Utah/NorthridgeLori LaCoursiere, SDSU, F, 5-9, Sr., San Jose, Calif./LelandAnita Pedford, UNLV, F, 5-4, So., Ontario, Calif./OntarioStaci Reynolds, BYU, D, 5-5, Jr., Salt Lake City, Utah/GraniteSara Reading, BYU, MF, 5-8, Jr., Plano, Texas/PlanoJennie Schoeck, AFA, MF, 5-9, Jr., Colorado Springs, Colo./Air Academy

Goal KeeperCourtney Hills, UTAH, G, 5-7, Fr., Orem, Utah/Mountain View

Second Team

Beth Boyer, AFA, MF, 5-3, So., Waukee, Iowa/WaukeeFay deLeon, SDSU, D, 5-3, So., Diamond Bar, Calif./HorizonJennifer Fitzpatrick, UNM, F, 5-6, Sr., Vestal, N.Y./ColgateKim Lowe, BYU, MF, 5-5, Jr., Orem, Utah/OremMegan Mattes, SDSU, MF, 5-9, Sr., Redding, Conn./VermontKaycee McElree, SDSU, MF, 5-7, So., Davis, Calif./DavisDanielle Small, SDSU, MF, 5-4, Jr., New Castle, Australia/Univ. of MobileNan Sommer, WYO, M, 5-2, Sr., Salt Lake City, Utah/TaylorsvilleLesa Zollinger, UTAH, F, 5-5, So., Millville, Utah/Mountain Crest

Goal KeeperJennifer Waldron, BYU, G, 5-8, So., Salt Lake City, Utah/Woods Cross

Player of the Year ? Maren Hendershot, BYUFreshman of the Year ? Kari James, Air ForceCoach of the Year ? Amy Winslow, Utah