MWC Announces Women's Soccer All-Conference Teams

Nov. 5, 2002


Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The Mountain West Conference announced its 2002 Women's Soccer postseason awards today at it's pre-championship banquet. The league's seven head coaches selected the all-conference teams, coach, player and freshman awards.

Utah head coach Rich Manning captured Coach of the Year honors, while BYU's Jeni Viernes and Brooke Bowman were selected as the Player and Freshman of the Year, respectively.

Utah, which finished second in the conference standings, led the way with six all-conference selections, including three first-team honorees. Regular-season champion BYU placed five athletes on the all-conference team, followed by third-place New Mexico with four. Air Force, San Diego State and Wyoming had two players apiece on the all-league team, while UNLV had one.

Rich Manning earned coach of the year honors in his first year at the helm of the Utes. Manning led the Utes to a 4-1-1conference record (11-2-3 overall) and a second place finish in the league standings.

BYU senior midfielder/forward Jeni Viernes was selected Player of the Year after leading the Cougars to their fourth straight MWC regular-season title. The Murray, Utah, native, leads the conference in goals (11), goals per game (0.58), game-winning goals (6) and points (27), and is second in points per game (1.42). She also was the only player to be named MWC Player of the Week twice this season.

Freshman of the Year honors went to BYU's Brooke Bowman, a midfielder, from Plano, Texas (Plano West High). Bowman scored four goals during league play and has seven total goals on the year. She also recorded four assists this season for a total of 18 points.