Mountain West Conference Announces Women's Soccer All-Conference Teams

Nov. 1, 2000


The Mountain West Conference announced its all-conference teams today at the women's soccer championship which is being held at Peter Johann Memorial Field on the campus of UNLV. BYU senior forward Michelle Jensen-Peterson was named the MWC Player of the Year, while teammate Aleisha Cramer and San Diego State forward Kim Castellanos were named Co-Freshmen of the Year. BYU head coach Jennifer Rockwood was named Coach of the Year.

Mountain West Conference regular-season champion and 11th-ranked BYU led the way with seven all-conference selections, including four first team honorees. Utah, who finished second in the conference standings, placed five athletes on the all-league team, with four of them being named to the second team. San Diego State was the only other team besides BYU to place multiple players on the first team with three.

BYU forward Michelle Jensen-Peterson, a senior from Salt Lake City, Utah (Olympus HS), was named MWC Player of the Year by the league's seven head coaches. Jensen-Peterson returned to the Cougars this year after a two-year LDS mission and led the MWC in total points with 34. In league play, she was tied for first in assists (4) and second in both goals (5) and points (14). Jensen-Peterson recorded two hat tricks on the year, was honored as the league's player of the week three times and scored a point in 11 of 19 matches played.

San Diego State's Kim Castellanos and BYU's Aleisha Cramer and were selected as Co-Freshmen of the Year in the Mountain West Conference. Castellanos, a forward from Escondido, Calif. (Rancho Bernardo HS), led the MWC in league action with eight goals and seven total points. She became the first player in MWC history to record back-to-back hat tricks in matches vs. New Mexico and UNLV. Castellanos also tied an MWC record, and set a new freshman mark, for shots in a game with 10 at Wyoming. Cramer, a midfielder from Lakewood, Colo. (Green Mountain HS), scored four goals and had 12 total points in league action. The 1999 National High School Player of the Year, also ranked third in the league in assists with nine and recorded at least one point in nine matches this season.

Cougar head coach Jennifer Rockwood was recognized as the Coach of the Year after compiling a 16-3-1 overall record and going undefeated in conference play at 6-0. Rockwood became the first MWC coach to eclipse the 100-win total on Sept. 23 with a 2-0 victory over Milwaukee-Wisconsin. In just her sixth season in Provo, she boasts a 109-25-2 record. Entering this season, Rockwood was ranked fifth among active coaches by winning percentage. She has averaged 18.6 wins per season over the past five years, which ranks second behind only Anson Dorrance of North Carolina for wins per season. Dorrance has won an average of 22.2 matches per season.


First Team

Beth Boyer AFA MF 5-3 Jr. Waukee, Iowa/Waukee HS
Aleisha Cramer BYU MF 5-10 Fr. Lakewood, Colo./Green Mountain HS
Michelle Jensen-Peterson BYU F 5-5 Sr. Salt Lake City, Utah/Olympus HS
Sara Reading BYU MF 5-8 Sr. Plano, Texas/Plano HS
Staci Reynolds BYU D 5-5 Sr. Salt Lake City, Utah/Granite HS
Jayme Dieringer UNM D 5-8 Sr. Arvada, Colo./Arvada West HS
Kim Castellanos SDSU F 5-2 Fr. Escondido, Calif./Rancho Bernardo HS
Fay deLeon SDSU D 5-3 Jr. Diamond Bar, Calif./Horizon HS
Janae Sims UNLV F 5-5 Jr. Rancho Cucamonga, Calif./St. Lucy's Priory HS
Amy Kofoed UTAH F 5-6 Jr. Layton, Utah/Northridge HS

Goal Keeper

Linnea Quinones SDSU G 5-7 Jr. Chula Vista, Calif./Bonita Vista HS

Second Team

Jennie Schoeck AFA MF 5-9 Sr. Colorado Springs, Colo./Air Academy HS
Athelia Graham BYU D 5-6 Sr. Orem, Utah/Mountain View HS
Natalyn Lewis BYU MF 5-2 Sr. Idaho Falls, Idaho/Skyline HS
Kim Lowe BYU F 5-6 Sr. Danville, Calif./San RamonValley HS
Jamie Minkler UNM D 5-6 Jr. Federal Way, Wash./Federal Way HS
Anita Pedford UNLV F 5-4 Jr. Ontario, Calif./Ontario HS
Lesa Zollinger UTAH D 5-5 So. Millville, Utah/Mountain Crest HS
Shauna Gurr UTAH F 5-6 So. Woods Cross, Utah/Woods Cross HS
Katie Tate UTAH F 5-8 So. Sacramento, Calif./Hiram Johnson HS
Kelly McShane WYO F 5-9 Sr. Littleton, Colo./Heritage HS

Goal Keeper

Courtney Hills UTAH G 5-7 So. Orem, Utah/Mountain View HS

Player of the Year - Michelle Jensen-Peterson, BYU

Freshman of the Year - Kim Castellanos, San Diego State/Aleisha Cramer, BYU

Coach of the Year - Jennifer Rockwood, BYU