Women's Soccer Places Two on All-WAC Second Team

November 11, 1998


The WAC announced yesterday its postseason honors for the 1998 womens soccer season. Awards given included All-Mountain and All-Pacific Division First and Second Teams, Players of the Year, Coaches of the Year, and Freshman of the Year.

The University of Wyoming placed two members of its team on the All-Mountain Division Second Team. Sophomore midfielder Katrina Morton and senior forward Erica Campbell both were named to the team for the first time in their careers.

Morton, of Spokane, Washington, was the Cowgirls scoring leader during the 1998 season with 12 points. She scored five goals and added two assists during the season. Of her five goals, three were game winners. She was also named the WAC Mountain Division Player of the Week following the Cowgirls final game of the season, a 1-0 overtime victory over Kansas in which Morton scored the only goal.

Campbell, of Greeley, Colorado, scored a career high three goals during the 1998 season. She also added an assist to give her a season total of seven points. Two of her goals proved to be game winners for the Cowgirls. Campbells best games of the season were games in which she didnt score, versus New Mexico and UTEP, but created numerous scoring opportunities for UW and caused enough defensive problems for the opposing teams that they were forced to alter their defensive schemes specifically to stop her.

Brigham Youngs midfielder Maren Hendershot and UTEPs defender Laura Glasspoole were named the Pacific and Mountain Division Players of the Year, respectively, while UNLV forward Anita Pedford and Tulsa midfielder Beth Tarucio earned Freshman of the Year honors. The Pacific Division Coach of the Year is Chuck Clegg of WAC Champion San Diego State, and Veronica OBrien of UTEP was named the Mountain Division Coach of the Year.