Athlete of the Week Archive

Feb. 10, 2006

LARAMIE, Wyo. -




Patricia Chien


How long have you been playing tennis competitively?
"Probably around twelve years."

Do you have any other hobbies?
"I really enjoy shopping and I also do some country dancing. Other than that I really don't have time for anything else."

What's your major?
"Textiles and Merchandising."

How did you end up coming to Wyoming from California?
"I came and I took my recruit visit and wasn't even thinking too seriously about Wyoming, but when I got here everyone was so nice and welcoming that I knew this is where I wanted to be. I just felt like it was the right place."

Was it hard for you to adjust to the weather and the altitude in Wyoming coming from California?
"Yeah, I'm still adjusting. It was a little tough at first, but I still love it here."

What is your most fond memory as a member of the Cowgirl Tennis team?
"I would have to say last fall when my doubles partner Karolina Rowinski and I won a match against a seeded team (Nebraska) at regionals. It was a really big win for us. We had never beaten a ranked team in our region."

What does a typical day look like for you as a member of the Cowgirl Tennis team?
"Well, usually we get up early and have morning practice. Then, I go to class and after class I study. By then I'm normally pretty tired so that's all I do. Practice, school and study."

What are your plans after college?
"I am actually trying to get into a career with tennis, not Textiles and Merchandising. I would like to get into assistant coaching or work for the USTA (United States Tennis Association)."

What are your goals for this season?
"This season we would like to do better then we did last year in Conference. Actually, we would like to get maybe fifth place in conference and just get as many wins as possible. For me personally, I just want to go out and have fun and play every match like it's my last."