Athlete of the Week Archive

April 25, 2008

LARAMIE, Wyo. -



Brittany DeFelice


Has the competition level of college tennis been what you expected it to be?
"To some degree, yes. I've played against top players in the past in junior tennis, so that was nothing new. However, I didn't realize just how tough the Mountain West Conference is until I played those matches."

You have an incredible singles record this year...why do you think you came in and did so well as a freshman? Did you just forget how to lose?
"I had nothing to lose in my first year, so my goal was just to go out and try hard. I was fortunate to get as many wins as I did. And no, I didn't forget how to lose. It's always in the back of your mind as motivation."

How would you describe yourself as a player?
"I'm mostly a ground-stroker, who can be occasionally aggressive. I mainly just like to outlast my opponent."

What type of racket do you play with?
"I use a Mid-plus Prince Shark. It's a good racket for me because I feel like I have more control. It just feels right."

Is your forehand or backhand better?
"I hit both shots with two hands, but my forehand for sure. I try to get to my forehand to end points."

Can you hit a between-the-legs winner? Have you ever tried it during a match?
"It's close to impossible for me to hit a tweener because of my height and that I hit with two hands on both sides. I've never tried it during a match."

Do you ever watch pro tennis with the intent of learning how to improve your own game?
"No, when I watch professional tennis I really don't take notes. I like to just sit back and enjoy good tennis. It seems so easy for them. Sometimes it's hard to enjoy watching the sport that you play, but I try to do that."

What are your plans for this summer?
"I'll go back to Oklahoma, do some tennis camps, take an online class, go to the lake and hang out with my friends."

Has it been difficult to balance tennis and school this past year?
"During the fall I had no difficulty balancing the two, but this spring I've had a hard time studying after matches. Hopefully it gets easier as the years go."

What is your favorite sport other than tennis?
"I really like football. My entire family is big into Ohio State Football. Basically my whole family went to school there. I watch football whenever I can. I like the rowdiness and the atmosphere. It's a good contrast to tennis, although our team does get loud cheering for each other at our matches."

How has life in the dorms been?
"It's been interesting, but something that everyone should have to go through. It really makes you learn how to compromise and you get to know a lot of people. Eventually I would prefer a room by myself because it is hard to have two people in such a small space."

What kind of food can you get in Edmond, Okla. that you wish you could have here in Laramie?
"Probably just a wider variety of food is what I would want here. A better Chinese place, maybe an ice cream place, maybe some Italian."

If you are playing in a huge pro tourney, maybe the 2015 U.S. Open, and get to pick the music that plays as you enter the arena, what would it be?
"I don't really have a specific song, but probably any kind of rap or high-beat music. Anything fast."