UW's Summerfield Garners All-MWC Honors

April 22, 2009


For the second time in her career, Wyoming Cowgirl junior Sarah Summerfield has earned All-MWC honors as it was announced today by the Mountain West Conference. The MWC awards are selected by the league's nine head coaches.

"This is a well deserved award for Sarah," said UW head coach Kati Gyulai. "She is one of the top players in the Mountain West Conference. We are happy to see her get recognized for her efforts and accomplishments this season."

From Chester, N.J., she is the second player in school history to earn All-MWC honors twice during her career and the third player overall. Summerfield is currently 18-17 overall in singles and 20-17 in doubles play. This spring, she has an 11-12 mark in singles, while finishing the MWC season 3-5. During her career as a Cowgirl, she has tallied 45 career singles wins, which is 11th all-time in school history.

The Cowgirls opened up the 2009 MWC Tournament with a 4-3 victory over the Air Force Academy Falcons, on Wednesday morning, in Albuquerque. They will play the top seeded UNLV Rebels, on Thursday afternoon, beginning at 2:00 p.m.

2008-09 Women's Tennis All-MWC Team


*Kristina Doerr, Jr., BYU
McCall Jones, Fr., BYU
Laura Neal, Jr., Colorado State
*Ola Abou-Zekry, Sr., New Mexico
Mackenzie White, Sr., New Mexico
Holly Bagshaw, Sr., San Diego State
Kayla Duncan, Fr., TCU
*Macall Harkins, Sr., TCU
*Katariina Tuohimaa, So., TCU
Nikol Dimitrova, Sr., UNLV
* Kristina Nedeltcheva, Jr., UNLV
Katy Williams, Sr., UNLV
Anastasia Putilina, Fr., Utah
Erin Monson, Jr., Utah
* Sarah Summerfield, Jr., Wyoming


McCall Jones/Kristina Doerr, BYU
Megan Price/Elle Carney, BYU
Ola Abou-Zekry/Emma Hayman, New Mexico
Holly Bagshaw/Julia Trunk, San Diego State
Katariina Tuohimaa/Kayla Duncan, TCU
Kristina Nedeltcheva/Katy Williams, UNLV
Erin Monson/Andrea Maughan, Utah

Player of the Year: Ola Abou-Zekry, New Mexico

Freshman of the Year: McCall Jones, BYU

*notes repeat selection