Wyoming Tennis Garners Postseason Honors

April 23, 2014


Full MW Release

Two members of the Wyoming Cowgirl Tennis Team, Veronica Popovici and Dorottya Jonas, were recognized on Wednesday as the Mountain West announced the 2014 All-Conference Team. The MW awards are selected by the league's 11 head coaches.

"These are well-deserved honors for Veronica and Dorottya," said head coach Dean Clower. "For Veronica to be all-conference four years in a row is something not many people can say they have accomplished. She has been an ambassador for UW tennis and helped put this program on the map. Congratulations as well for the two of them on the doubles award. They improved tremendously in a very short time this year to put themselves in an elite category. "

Popovici was named First Team All-Conference in singles play, while they were selected to the All-Conference Doubles Team as well. It's the first time in school history that a player has won four straight singles awards.

For Popovici, a native of Piatra Neamt, Romania, it's the fourth year in a row she has earned the award and the sixth straight year a Cowgirl has been named to the All-Conference team. She is currently 19-10 overall in singles, going 9-7 during the spring. She finished the MW season 4-1 at the number one position.

"Vera has been a joy to coach over the past four years. Her willingness to work on the small things each day has made her into the player she is today. Thanks to her for all she has done for the school, program and Laramie community."

Popovici and Jonas have a doubles record of 13-12 overall, while going 4-5 during the spring. They reached the semifinals of the ITA Mountain Regional Tournament in the fall finishing with a record of 8-5. Playing at the number one position, the duo also finished with a 3-2 mark in MWC action. It's the third such honor for Popovici and the first for Jonas.

The Cowgirls, who are seeded fifth, open up the 2014 MW Tournament against the fourth seeded Boise State Broncos. The match is set for Friday, April 25, beginning at 11:00 a.m. Mountain Time.