Wyoming Tennis Garners Post Season Honors

April 28, 2010

Laramie, Wyo. - Three members of the Wyoming Cowgirl Tennis Team were recognized on Tuesday as the Mountain West Conference announced the 2010 All-Conference Team. The MWC awards are selected by the league's nine head coaches.

Freshman Alexandra Kovacs was named First Team All-Conference in singles play, while the doubles team of Simona Synkova and Kim van Ginkel were selected to the Doubles All-Conference Team.

"This is a very well deserved award and a great achievement for our newcomers," said head coach Kati Gyulai. "They worked hard all year and they belong among the best players in the MWC."

From Esztergom, Hungary, Kovacs is the fourth player in school history to earn First Team All-MWC honors. She is currently 21-14 overall in singles and 20-8 in doubles play. This spring, she has a 13-7 mark in singles, while finishing the MWC season 3-4 at the number two position.

Synkova (Bratislava, Slovakia) and van Ginkel (Barneveld, Netherlands) recorded a 10-7 mark together in doubles play during the spring. Playing at the number one position, they also finished with a 4-4 mark in MWC play which included a win over the 40th ranked Kayla Duncan and Katariina Tuohimaa of TCU.

The Cowgirls, who are seeded third in the tournament, open up the 2010 MWC Tournament against the TCU Frogs, on Thursday, at 5 p.m. Mountain Time. The match, which was originally scheduled for 3 p.m., was delayed because of some weather in the area on Wednesday.

2009-10 Women's Tennis All-MWC Team

*Kristina Doerr, Sr., BYU
*McCall Jones, So., BYU
Alicia Aguilar, Fr., San Diego State
Julia Trunk, Jr., San Diego State J
*Kayla Duncan, So., TCU
*Nina Munch-Soegaard, Sr., TCU
*Katariina Tuohimaa, Jr., TCU
Jana Albers, Jr., UNLV
Adrienn Hidvegi, Jr., UNLV
*Kristina Nedeltcheva, Sr., UNLV
Nives Pavlovic, Fr., UNLV
*Evgenia Kryuchkova, Jr., Utah
*Anastasia Putilina, So., Utah
Alexandra Kovacs, Fr., Wyoming

McCall Jones/Megan Price, BYU
Roxanne Ellison/Sierra Ellison, San Diego State
*Kayla Duncan/Katariina Tuohimaa, TCU
Jana Albers/Kristina Nedeltcheva, UNLV
Anna Maskaljun/Alisa Razina, UNLV
Paige Miles/Anastasia Putilina, Utah
Kim van Ginkel/Simona Synkova, Wyoming

Player of the Year: McCall Jones, BYU

Freshman of the Year: Alicia Aguilar, San Diego State

*notes a repeat selection