Wyoming Tennis Named Organization of the Year By ITA

Dec. 5, 2012


The University of Wyoming Varsity Tennis Complex was selected as the 2012 Intermountain Section Organization of the Year, on Saturday, which was announced by the Intermountain Tennis Association (ITA). Head women's coach Dean Clower accepted the award at the ITA Annual meetings in Denver, Colorado.

The award is given annually to recognize the services rendered to Intermountain USTA members by its member organizations: Community Tennis Associations, Clubs, Park and Recreation Departments. Section winners are submitted to the USTA for the National Organization of the Year Award.

The University of Wyoming has hosted a number of junior and adult USTA tournaments including the USTA Wyoming District JTT Championships, the USTA Wyoming District Adult, Senior League Playoffs and the Fall Mixed Doubles. They have supported the UW Club Tennis Team and hosted a Tennis On Campus match. They are also a registered Campus QuickStart site - one of only 30 currently registered Campus QuickStart Programs in the US.

Recently, they welcomed the Wyoming Junior Championships, which was held Nov. 9-11. During the upcoming weekend, the Adult Winter Championships will begin Saturday, Dec. 8 and conclude the following day. It is open to anyone with levels from 3.0, 3.5, 4.0, 4.5 and Open. There will be separate draws of men's and women's doubles, mixed doubles and singles.

Clower was also named the Wyoming Volunteer of the Year. This award is given annually to Wyoming District's Volunteer of the Year to recognize his or her outstanding contributions, personal unselfishness and devotion to the game.

The USTA Intermountain Section is one of 17 sections of the United States Tennis Association. They are a not-for-profit organization committed to growing the game of tennis by offering quality recreational and competitive programs for people of all ages and abilities. Intermountain boasts more than 39,900 individual and over 450 organizational members in its six Districts (states); Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Utah and Wyoming.