Cowgirl Volleyball Earns Spot On AVCA Academic Award List

July 22, 2011


The University of Wyoming Women's Volleyball Team was one of 92 Division I Institutions to be named by the American Volleyball Coaches Association as a recipient of the 2010-11 AVCA Team Academic Award. It's the third year in a row that they have received the honor.

The Cowgirls had an overall grade point average of 3.316 for the 2010-11 Academic Year. Wyoming had 11 members on this year's Mountain West All-Academic Volleyball Team and six MW Scholar-Athletes. JennaRae Jester was named ESPN First Team Academic All-District VII and Second Team Academic All-America for the first time in her career. UW finished the season with a 22-10 overall record and a 7-9 mark in the Mountain West Conference.

"I am very proud of this team," said head coach Carrie Yerty. "They are dedicated to excellence both on the court and in the classroom. They take great pride in the classroom and are excellent ambassadors for our athletic department and institution."

The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) announced that 481 teams earned the AVCA Team Academic Award for the 2010-2011 season. The number once again breaks the previous years' total of 450 and sets a new all-time high for the award. The award, which was initiated in the 1992-93 academic year, honors collegiate and high school volleyball teams that displayed excellence in the classroom during the school year by maintaining at least a 3.30 cumulative team grade-point average on a 4.0 scale or a 4.10 cumulative team GPA on a 5.0 scale.

The Team Academic Award has become one of the AVCA's fastest growing awards programs, seeing an impressive surge in teams honored over the past several years. Since the 2000-2001 season, the number of recipients has increased every single year but one, while amassing an overall 170% increase over the span of the decade. Since the award's inception in 1993, the award has risen by an astounding 674%. NCAA Division II recorded their highest-ever total number of recipients, honoring 57 programs while Division III easily surpassed last year's record of 75 winners with 88 this year. The high school division also set a new record with its 194 recipients.

Over 1,000 different schools have earned the award in the program's 19-year history, with exactly 4,297 awards been given out in total. Only two institutions, both high schools, have earned the distinction all 19 years: Jonesboro High School (Jonesboro, Arkansas) and Ross S. Sterling High School (Baytown, Texas).