Cowgirl Volleyball Earns Spot on AVCA Academic Award List

July 28, 2009


Complete Release/Team Listings in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

The University of Wyoming Women's Volleyball Team was one of 71 Division I institutions to be named by the American Volleyball Coaches Association as a recipient of the 2008-09 AVCA Team Academic Award.

The Cowgirls had an overall grade point average of 3.352 for the 2008-09 academic year. Wyoming had four members on this year's Mountain West Conference Women's Volleyball All-Academic Team, along with Carissa Lee being named Third Team Academic All-District VII for the first time in her career.

"With this award it is evident that the UW Volleyball team has stepped up its academic intensity," said Volleyball Academic Coordinator Katie Ludwin. "The team has redefined the academic culture and as a result, all team members have improved their individual grade point averages. I commend their tenacity in the classroom and am excited to see they've been recognized for their efforts."

The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) announced that 409 teams have earned the AVCA Team Academic Award for the 2008-2009 season. This number once again eclipses the previous years' total of 354 and sets a new all-time high for this award. The award, which was initiated in the 1992-93 academic year, honors collegiate and high school volleyball teams that displayed excellence in the classroom during the school year by maintaining at least a 3.30 cumulative team grade-point average on a 4.0 scale or a 4.10 cumulative team GPA on a 5.0 scale.

NCAA Division I once again had 71 schools receiving the award for academic achievements. NCAA Division II and NCAA Division III surpassed their marks from last year with 46 and 77 schools, respectively. The NAIA had 35 of its member schools achieve the honor this year, which is 21% of its total membership for 2008-2009. Nine (9) schools in the Two-Year College category attained the mark while the NCCAA produced two recipients.

Over 900 different schools have earned the award in the program's 17-year history, and over 2,800 awards have been given out. Only two institutions, both high schools, have earned the distinction all 17 years: Jonesboro High School (Jonesboro, Arkansas) and Ross S. Sterling High School (Baytown, Texas).