Track & Field

Wyoming Announces 2013-14 Track & Field Schedule

Jenna Mann

Jenna Mann

Sept. 12, 2013

LARAMIE, Wyo. -

2013-14 Track & Field Schedule

Four home meets, including the 2014 Mountain West Outdoor Championships, and two duals in Gillette highlight the University of Wyoming track & field team's 2013-14 schedule, which was announced by head coach Bryan Berryhill on Thursday.

"The coaching staff and I are really looking forward to this year's schedule because it gives our program a little bit of everything," Berryhill said. "We have some duals and small meets, while also traveling to larger invitational meets and obviously the national competitions."

The Cowboys and Cowgirls host two home meets on the Hager-LeBar Indoor Track at War Memorial Fieldhouse during the indoor season, the Power Meet on Friday, Dec. 6 and the Robert Shine Invitational on Friday, Feb. 21. UW will also venture to Gillette twice to compete on the six-lane, 200-meter track in the Campbell County Recreation Center. Wyoming will battle Colorado State in the Border War Dual on Saturday, Jan. 18, before facing Montana State in the Powder River Dual on Friday, Jan. 31.

"Our indoor schedule is really highlighted by our two duals in Gillette and the MW Championships on the Front Range," Berryhill said. "The Gillette duals give fans a chance to see a shorter-than-normal meet between two programs where one team wins. Entries in each event will be limited and we'll only run select events. They also serve as great outreach for our fans in the northeast part of the state."

Wyoming will host the MW Outdoor Championships for the first time since 2009 on Wednesday, May 14 through Saturday, May 17, on the Memorial 8 Track at the Louis S. Madrid Sports Complex. The Cowboys finished sixth and the Cowgirls were ninth in the team race the last time the program hosted the conference championships. UW will also host the Cowpoke Open on Sunday, May 4, as a tune-up for the MW meet.

 

 

"The conference meet will give our local fans a chance to see a very competitive meet," Berryhill said. "That will be the most competitive meet we'll run in the state. Plus any time you host a conference championship, your student-athletes really get excited. Our team is probably most excited for that meet because it's here on our home track and gives them a chance to perform well in front of our fans."

Other highlights of Wyoming's indoor schedule include three meets at Air Force, including the 2014 MW Indoor Championships on Thursday, Feb. 27 through Saturday, March 1. UW will also travel to the Husky Classic in Seattle, Wash., on Friday and Saturday, Feb. 14-15. The 2014 NCAA Indoor Championships will be on Friday and Saturday, March 14-15 in Albuquerque, N.M.

During the outdoor season, Wyoming will return to the prestigious Mt. SAC Relays on Wednesday, April 16 through Friday, April 18, while also visiting California for the UC Riverside Spring Track Classic on Thursday, March 27 through Saturday, March 29. Regional meets include the Air Force Relays on Saturday, April 5, the CU Invitational on Saturday, April 12 and CSU's Jack Christiansen Invitational on Friday and Saturday, April 25-26.

Qualifying individuals finish the outdoor season at the NCAA West Preliminaries from Thursday to Saturday, May 29-31 and the NCAA Outdoor Championships on Wednesday, June 11 through Saturday, June 14.

Shop Now!