Women's Basketball

Cowgirl Hoops Picked Seventh at Conference Media Day


Oct. 13, 2005


AudioClick Here: Audio of Cowgirl Senior Erin Hicks during MWC Media Day
AudioClick Here: Audio of Cowgirl Head Coach Joe Legerski during MWC Media Day

The Mountain West Conference announced its 2005-06 preseason women's basketball poll and all-conference team today at its Basketball Media Day held at the University Park Marriott. The voting panel consisted of the league's nine head coaches and select women's basketball media.

Utah was tabbed as the clear-cut preseason favorite, marking the third time the Utes have been picked to finish atop the conference. Utah received 23 of 26 first-place votes and 214 total points. New Mexico had two first-place votes and finished second with 180 points, followed by TCU with one first-place vote and 164 points. UNLV (137 points) placed fourth, followed by Colorado State (117 points), BYU (107 points), Wyoming (90 points), San Diego State (45 points) and Air Force (31 points).

Utah senior forward Kim Smith earned Top Returning Player honors for the third straight year, while Faye Mueller of UNLV was named Top Newcomer. Four of the nine MWC teams were represented on the all-conference team, including four seniors and one sophomore. Smith, selected to the State Farm Wade Trophy and John R. Wooden preseason lists earlier this fall, is a three-time Kodak/WBCA honorable mention All-American. Smith was joined on the preseason all-MWC team by teammate and 2005 MWC Co-Player of the Year, Shona Thorburn, UNLV's Sheena Moore, Dionne Marsh of New Mexico and Melissa Dennett of Colorado State.

2005-06 Mountain West Conference Preseason Poll

Rk. Team (1st-place votes) Points
1. Utah (23) 214
2. New Mexico (2) 180
3. TCU (1) 164
4. UNLV 137
5. Colorado State 117
6. BYU 107
7. Wyoming 90
8. San Diego State 45
9. Air Force 31

Note: Coaches do not vote for their own teams.

2005-06 Mountain West Conference Presason All-Conference Team

Name, Class, Position Institution
Kim Smith, Sr., F Utah
Shona Thorburn, Sr., G Utah
Sheena Moore, Sr., G UNLV
Dionne Marsh, So., F New Mexico
Melissa Dennett, Sr., F Colorado State



Shop Now!