Women's Soccer

Cowgirl Soccer Announces 2014 Schedule

Pete Cuadrado

Pete Cuadrado

May 15, 2014

LARAMIE, Wyo. -

Head coach Pete Cuadrado and the University of Wyoming women’s soccer team announced the upcoming 2014 season schedule on Thursday. The Cowgirls are set to play six home matches at the Louis S. Madrid Sports Complex, five of which are Mountain West contests.

The Cowgirls begin with a road exhibition game against Colorado School of Mines on Aug. 16 in Golden, Colo. Wyoming will then kick off the non-conference portion of its slate, which features seven contests versus squads from five different conferences. The regular season will begin Aug. 22, with a 7 p.m. game against Kansas in Lawrence, Kan. It will be the first matchup between the schools since 1999.

On Aug. 24, UW will play its home opener against Big Sky Conference member, Montana. Kickoff for Wyoming’s lone non-conference home match is set for 1 p.m. From there, the Cowgirls will play the next six games on the road, starting with two other Big Sky Conference members. UW meets Idaho State on Aug. 29 and Weber State on Aug. 31. On Sept. 5, Wyoming will once again hit the road for a 7:30 p.m. match with Utah Valley.

The following weekend sends the Cowgirls to Vermillion, S.D., for a Sept. 12 game at South Dakota before the first-ever contest with Morehead State on Sept. 14 in Morehead, Ky. Sept. 19 marks the final non-conference game for the Cowgirls, as they’ll travel to Greeley, Colo., to face Front Range Derby rival Northern Colorado.

UW’s 11-game Mountain West conference slate will begin Sept. 26, playing host to Nevada at the Louis S. Madrid Sports Complex for a scheduled start at 3 p.m.  Two days later, UNLV visits Laramie for a 1 p.m. match against the Cowgirls, and MW play continues when Wyoming travels to Utah State on Oct. 3 and Boise State on Oct. 5.

Wyoming will play first-year MW member Colorado College on Oct. 10, and Air Force on Oct. 12 at home before three-consecutive road games in the state of California. UW faces Fresno State on Oct. 17, San José State on Oct. 19 and regular-season and MW-tournament champion San Diego State on Oct. 24. The Cowgirls also travel to Albuquerque, N.M., on Oct. 26 for a match with New Mexico before meeting Border War rival Colorado State at the Louis S. Madrid Sports Complex on Nov. 1.  


 

 

The MW tournament will be hosted by San Diego State and will run Nov. 5-9.

 

2014 Wyoming Soccer Schedule

Sat., Aug. 16 – at Colorado School of Mines (Exhibition)

Fri., Aug. 22 – at Kansas

Sun., Aug. 24 - Montana

Fri., Aug. 29 – at Idaho State

Sun., Aug. 31 – at Weber State

Fri., Sept. 5 – at Utah Valley

Fri., Sept. 12 – at South Dakota

Sun., Sept. 14 – at Morehead State

Fri., Sept. 19 – at Northern Colorado

Fri., Sept. 26 – Nevada*

Sun., Sept. 28 – UNLV*

Fri., Oct. 3 – at Utah State*

Sun., Oct. 5 – at Boise State*

Fri., Oct. 10 – Colorado College*

Sun., Oct. 12 – Air Force*

Fri., Oct. 17 – at Fresno State*

Sun., Oct. 19 – at San José State*

Fri., Oct. 24 – at San Diego State*

Sun., Oct. 26 – at New Mexico*

Fri., Oct. 31 – Colorado State*

*Indicates Mountain West Conference match

 

Shop Now!