Women's Soccer

Wyoming's Anne Moore Garners MWC Coach of the Year Honors

Head Coach Anne Moore led her Cowgirl team to a 4-2 MWC record in 2003.<br>

Head Coach Anne Moore led her Cowgirl team to a 4-2 MWC record in 2003.

Nov. 4, 2003


The Mountain West Conference announced its 2003 Women's Soccer postseason awards this evening at its pre-championship banquet. The league's seven head coaches selected the all-conference teams, coach, offensive and defensive player and freshman awards.

Wyoming head coach Anne Moore captured Coach of the Year honors, while Utah's Amber Brower and BYU's Aleisha Rose were selected as the Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year, respectively. Utah's Amanda Feigt garnered Freshman of the Year honors.

Regular-season champion Utah and second-place BYU led the way with six all-conference selections each. UNLV placed four athletes on the all-conference team, followed by third-place Wyoming with three. San Diego State had two players on the all-league team, while Air Force and New Mexico each had one.

Anne Moore earned coach of the year honors after leading the Cowgirls to a 4-2-0 conference record (10-8-0 overall) and tied for second place in the conference standings with BYU.

Utah senior midfielder Amber Brower was selected Offensive Player of the Year after leading the Utes to their first outright MWC regular-season title. The Hyrum, Utah, native, is leading the MWC in game-winning goals (five), tied for first in goals scored (eight), second in points per game (1.12) and goals per game (0.47) and third in total points (19). In conference play, she led the league with three game-winning goals, was tied for first in goals scored (four), tied for second in total points (nine) and goals per game (0.67), and tied for third in points per game (1.50). Brower was also named the MWC Offensive Player of the Week once this season.

BYU senior midfielder Aleisha Rose was named the inaugural Defensive Player of the Year for her play on the defensive side of the ball. She helped the Cougar defense hold their opponents to 18 goals on the season, including shutouts of two top-25 teams (No. 17 Michigan and No. 7 Tennessee). On the offensive side of the ball, Rose led the MWC in assists with 10.

Freshman of the Year honors went to Utah's Amanda Feigt, a forward, from Sandy, Utah (Jordan HS). Feigt tallied 10 total points during league play and had 16 total points on the year. She also had eight assists and two game-winning goals on the season.

First Team Mercy Adetoye Wyoming F 5-4 So. Englewood, Colo. (Littleton HS)

Amber Brower Utah M 5-5 Sr. Hyrum, Utah (Mountain Crest HS)

Krissa Campbell BYU M/F 5-4 Jr. Folsom, Calif. (Folsom HS)

Amanda Feigt Utah F 5-11 Fr. Sandy, Utah (Jordan HS)

Jennifer Fielding BYU F 5-4 Sr. Pasco, Wash. (Dixie College)

Annii Magliulo UNLV F/M 5-4 Jr. Pengrove, Calif. (Petaluma HS)

Aleisha Rose BYU M 5-10 Sr. Lakewood, Colo. (Green Mountain HS)

Alexis Solovij San Diego State M 5-2 So. Santa Barbara, Calif. (Dos Pueblos HS)

Kristin Stangl Wyoming D 5-6 Fr. Lone Tree, Colo. (Dakota Ridge HS)

Tracy Stratton Utah D 5-10 Jr. Bountiful, Utah (Bountiful HS)

Goalkeeper Lori Scheider Wyoming GK 5-9 Sr. Littleton, Colo. (Portland State)

Second Team

Bobbie Benegas Utah M/F 5-3 Sr. Aurora, Colo. (Rangeview HS)

Terra Bigelow BYU F 5-5 Sr. Livermore, Calif. (Livermore HS)

Cookie Day Air Force M 5-3 Jr. Mansfield, Texas (Mansfield HS)

Lauren Field Utah D/F 5-6 Jr. High Point, N.C. (SW Guilford HS)

Nicole Jensen BYU D 5-6 Fr. Denver, Colo. (Green Mountain HS)

Tania Lee UNLV D/M 5-8 Sr. Thornton, Colo. (Horizon HS)

Marissa McBride New Mexico M/F 5-6 So. Denver, Colo. (Denver East HS)

Jenny Ruiz UNLV D 5-5 Jr. Corona, Calif. (Corona HS)

Amanda Swiader San Diego State D 5-9 So. Virginia Beach, Va. (Frank W. Cox HS)

Claire Thomas BYU D 5-11 Fr. Poway, Calif. (Poway HS)


Jenna Huff UNLV GK 6-0 So. Huntington Beach, Calif. (Edison HS)

Ashley Mason Utah GK 5-9 Fr. Sunnyvale, Calif. (Homestead HS)

Offensive Player of the Year - Amber Brower, Utah

Defensive Player of the Year - Aleisha Rose, BYU

Freshman of the Year - Amanda Feigt, Utah

Coach of the Year - Anne Moore, Wyoming



Shop Now!